FESHE Program and Professional Development Committees

This page may contain links to non-U.S. government websites. What this means to you »

The Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) Program is a peer-driven organization comprised of leaders from associate's, bachelor's, and graduate programs that offer degrees in fire science or administration, EMS management, fire protection engineering, and related concentrations. The entire process of FESHE product development is designed to produce academically-educated leaders of the fire and emergency services. With an eye to the future, the end-users are FESHE schools, current students, and recent graduates who are supported and/or represented by any number of FESHE partners and, in some cases, discipline-specific professional development committees.

A peer group representing degree programs with concentrations in fire science and EMS management develop FESHE model course outlines, review textbooks written to them, and address academic issues, as needed. The program and conference steering committees collaborate to ensure that identified national trends and issues are addressed in the annual FESHE conferences.

The National Fire Academy (NFA) serves as a conduit and process facilitator in support of the FESHE program.

Meeting Minutes

FESHE Program and Professional Development Committees

National Fire Science Degree Program Committee - Associate's

Ralph K. DeLaOssa (Chair)
Director of Public Services/Professor
Long Beach City College
Liberal Arts Campus
4901 East Carson Street
Long Beach, CA 90808
(562) 938-4338
(562) 938-4965 Fax
RDeLaOssa@LBCC.edu

Terry Koeper (Coordinating Liaison)
Professor of Fire Science
Crafton Hills College
11711 Sand Canyon Road
Yucaipa, CA 92399-1799
(909) 389-3261
(951) 389-3263 Fax
tkoeper@craftonhills.edu

Gary Fulton, MA, EMT-P
Fire Service Administrator
PA State Fire Academy
1150 Riverside Drive
Lewistown, PA 17044
(717) 247-3741
(717) 248-3580 Fax
gafulton@state.pa.us

Judith G. Kuleta
Advisor/Faculty
Bellevue Community College
3000 Landerholm Circle, SE
Bellevue, WA 98007
(425) 564-3085
(425) 564-4135 Fax
Judith.Kuleta@bellevuecollege.edu

David Budde
Director
EMS and Fire Science Technology
Lake Land College
5001 Lake Land Boulevard
Mattoon, IL 61938
(217) 234-5370
(217) 234-5370 Fax
dbudde9691@lakeland.cc.il.us

Dr. Debra Mertz (Vice Chair)
Fire and EMS Dean, Professor
Gulf Coast State College
5230 West Highway 98
Panama City, FL 32401
(904) 280-0430
debramertz@aol.com

Larry Perez
Program Director
New Mexico State University at Dona Ana
3400 S. Espina Street, MSC 3DA
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8001
(575) 527-7746
(575) 527-7765 Fax
laperez@nmsu.edu

Byron Mathews
2101 Oneil Ave Suite 304
Cheyenne, WY 82001
(307) 637-6311
Bmathews@cheyennecity.org

National Fire Science Degree Program Committee - Bachelor's

Gary D. Kistner (Chair)
Program Coordinator
Director of Graduate Studies
College of Applied Sciences and Arts
Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
1365 Douglas Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901-6613
(618) 453-7277
(618) 453-8894 Fax
siufire@siu.edu

Dr. Barbara Klingensmith (Coordinating Liaison)
Professional Excellence Consultants, LLC
29435 Schinnecock Hills Lane
San Antonio, FL 33576
(813) 312-9675
Barbk50@hotmail.com

L. Charles Smeby, Jr. M.P.P., MIFireE
Adjunct Professor
Fire and Emergency Services
Distance Learning University of Florida
P. O. Box 115703
304 Rinker Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-5703
(352) 789-6513
(352) 846-2772 Fax
csmeby@ufl.edu

Gary Noll (State Fire Training)
Department Chair
Emergency Services Department
Utah Valley University
3131 Mike Jense Parkway
Provo, UT 84601
(801) 362-9116
(801) 863-7738 Fax
Gary.Noll@uvu.edu

LaRon Tolley (DDP)
Programs and Project Director
Western Oregon University
345 N. Monmouth Avenue
Maaske Hall 217
Monmouth, OR 97361
(503) 838-8697
(503) 838-8473 Fax
TolleyL@wou.edu

Joseph Guarnera (Vice Chair)
Coordinator, Fire Service Professional Development Group
Massachusetts Department of Fire Services
P.O. Box 1025, State Road
Stow, MA 01775-1025
(978) 567-3258
(978) 567-3229 Fax
joseph.guarnera@state.ma.us

Larry Collins, Ed. D.
Chair, Safety, Security and Emergency Management
Eastern Kentucky University
250 Stratton Building
521 Lancaster Ave.
Richmond, KY 40475-3102
(859) 622-1054
(859) 622-6548 Fax
Larry.Collins@EKU.EDU

Adam Thiel
Fire Chief
Alexandria Fire Department
900 Second Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 838-4600
(703) 548-6952 Fax
adam.thiel@alexandriava.gov

Mark Rivero
Las Vegas Fire and Rescue
500 Casino Center
Las Vegas, NV 89101
(702) 229-0999
mrivero@lasvegasnevada.gov

Greg Gorbett
Assistant Professor
Safety, Security, and Emergency Management
Eastern Kentucky University
250 Stratton, Building
521 Lancaster Avenue
Richmond, KY 40475
(859) 622-2344
Greg.Gorbett@EKU.EDU

FESHE Conference Steering Committee

Larry Collins (Bachelor's) (Chair)
Chair, Safety, Security, and Emergency Management
Eastern Kentucky University
250 Stratton Building
521 Lancaster Ave.
Richmond, KY 40475-3102
(859) 622-1054
(859) 622-6548 Fax
Larry.Collins@EKU.EDU

Ralph K. DeLaOssa (Associate's)
Director of Public Services/Professor
Long Beach City College
Liberal Arts Campus
4901 East Carson Street
Long Beach, CA 90808
(562) 938-4338
(562) 938-4965 Fax
RDeLaOssa@LBCC.edu

Don Beckering (Fire Prevention)
State Director
Fire/EMS/Safety Center, Wells Fargo Pl
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
30 Seventh Street E, Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 649-5411
(651) 649-5409 Fax
don.beckering@so.mnscu.edu

Adam Thiel (Bachelor's)
Fire Chief
Alexandria Fire Department
900 Second Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 838-4600
(703) 548-6952 Fax
adam.thiel@alexandriava.gov

Aubrey "Buddy" Hyde, Jr. (High School to College Pathways)
Program Advisor
Fire Science Technology and EMS
Southside Virginia Community College
109 Campus Drive
Alberta, VA 23821
(434) 949-1084
buddy.hyde@southside.edu

Jeff Lindsey (EMS)
11012 Malaga Drive
Largo, FL 33774
jtlindsey1@aol.com

Terry Koeper (Coordinating Liaison)
Professor of Fire Science
Crafton Hills College
11711 Sand Canyon Road
Yucaipa, CA 92399
(909) 389-3261
(951) 389-3263 Fax
tkoeper@craftonhills.edu

Dr. Barbara Klingensmith (Coordinating Liaison)
Professional Excellence Consultants, LLC
29435 Schinnecock Hills Lane
San Antonio, FL 33576
(813) 312-9675
Barbk50@hotmail.com

Gary D. Kistner (Bachelor's)
Program Coordinator
Director of Graduate Studies
College of Applied Sciences and Arts
Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
1365 Douglas Drive
Carbondale, IL 62901-6613
(618) 453-7277
(618) 453-8894 Fax
siufire@siu.edu

Don Oliver
307 Hines Street West
Wilson, NC 27893
(252) 205-5850
doliver@wilsonnc.org

Gerri Penney, Ph.D. (Fire Prevention)
Community Education Coordinator
Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
405 Pike Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33411
(561) 616-7024
(561) 616-7084 Fax
gpenney@pcbgov.org

 

National Fire Prevention Professional Development Committee

Gerri Penney, M.Ed. (NFPA 1035)
(Chair)
Community Education Coordinator
Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
405 Pike Road
West Palm Beach, FL 33411
(561) 616-7024
(561) 616-7084 Fax
gpenney@pcbgov.org

Daniel W. Uthe (IAFC) (Retired Fire Marshal)
585 S. Stephanie Loop
Tucson, AZ 85745
(520) 235-3584
danuthe1@gmail.com

Jim Crawford (NFPA 1037)
Project Manager
Vision 20/20
3812 SE 157th Avenue
Vancouver, WA 98683
(503) 939-0473
crawfordj54@comcast.net

W. Faron Taylor (Retired Deputy Fire Marshal)
4633 Gracetown Rd
Whiteford, MD 21160
(443) 876-2039 theoverlandgroupllc@yahoo.com

Ronny J. Coleman
FESHE EMERITUS
Fireforceone
8866 Saint Anthony Court
Elk Grove, CA 95624
(916) 689-5363
ron@fireforceone.com

Debra Carlin
Assistant Chief/Fire Marshal
City of Dallas Fire Rescue
Life Safety and Professional Standards Bureau
1500 Marilla, Room 7AS
Dallas, TX 75201
(214) 670-7951
(214) 670-4564 (Fax)
debra.carlin@dallascityhall.com

Don Beckering (State Fire Training)
State Director
Fire/EMS/Safety Center, Wells Fargo Pl
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities
30 Seventh Street E, Suite 350
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 649-5411
(651) 649-5409 Fax
don.beckering@so.mnscu.edu

Jim Wenzel
Fire Chief
Klamath County Fire District 1
5749 Basin View Drive
Klamath Falls, OR 97603
(541) 891-3101
JimWenzel@yahoo.com

Lisa Jones
Fire Marshal
Spokanne Fire Department
44 West Riverside
Spokane, WA 99201-0114
(509) 625-7040
ljones@spokanefire.org

Earl Diment, Chief Safety Officer
Pioneering Technology
220 Britannia Road E
Mississauga, ON L4Z 1S6, Canada
(905) 712-2061 Office
(905) 712-3833 Fax
(503) 819-2417 Cell
ediment@pioneeringtech.com

Don Oliver, Fire Chief
FESHE EMERITUS
Wilson Fire Rescue Services
307 Hines Street West
Wilson, NC 27893
(252) 399-2891 Office
(252) 205-5850 Cell
doliver@wilsonnc.org

 

National EMS Management Degree Program Committee

Jeff Lindsey (Chair)
11012 Malaga Drive
Largo, FL 33774
jtlindsey1@aol.com

Diane C. Flint
Acting Management Program Director
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
1000 Hilltop Circle, AC 1V 313
Baltimore, MD 23220
(410) 455-3775
dflint@umbc.edu

David S. Becker (Vice Chair)
IAFC EMS Section
12873 Wenlock Drive
St. Louis, MO 63146
(314) 724-0292
dsbeckermo@msn.com

Sebastian Wong
Adjunct Faculty
Las Positas College
3033 Collier Canyon Road
Livermore, CA 94551
(415) 812-8393
sebwong@earthlink.net

Bruce Walz
Professor and Chair
Department of Emergency Health Services
University of Maryland Baltimore County
1000 Hilltop Circle
Baltimore, MD 21250
(410) 455-3216
walz@umbc.edu

Shannon Daniel
QA/QI Field Manager
Richmond Ambulance Authority
2400 Hermitage Road
Richmond, VA 23220
(804) 254-1128
sdaniel@raaems.org

Erik S. Gaull
NFA Contract Instructor for EMS Courses
5517 Potomac Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20005
(202) 744-0667
Esg25@columbia.edu

Angel Burba, MS, EMT-P, NCEE
Program Director
Howard Community College
10901 Little Patuxent Parkway
Columbia, MD 21044
(443) 518-4948
(443) 518-4494 Fax
aburba@howardcc.edu

Bob Seitz
Assistant Professor, Safety, Security, and Emergency Management Emergency Medicine Program
University of Pittsburgh
230 McKee Place, Ste 505
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
(412) 647-4671
seitzsr@upmc.edu

 

High School to College Pathways Committee

Aubrey W. "Buddy" Hyde, Jr. (Chair)
Fire Science Technology and EMS Program Advisor
Southside Virginia Community College
109 Campus Drive
Alberta, VA 23821
(434) 949-1084
buddy.hyde@southside.edu

Travis Ford
Program Director
Volunteer State Community College
1480 Nashville Pike, Wallace 102-L
Gallatin, TN 37066
(615) 230-3354
travis.ford@volstate.edu

Doug Ott
Field Training Coordinator
University of Akron
225 S. High Street, Room 309
Akron, OH 44325
(330) 972-6240
ottd@uakron.edu

Paula Simone
Fire Program Director
Central Oregon Community College
2600 NW College Way
Bend, OR 97701
(541) 383-7404
psimone@cocc.edu

Walter Thieme
Director of Fire Science
Del Mar College
PS1135, 101 Baldwin Blvd
Corpus Christi, TX 78404-3897
(361) 698-1760
wthieme@delmar.edu

Gail Warner
Director
Oxnard College Fire Technology
4000 South Rose Avenue
Oxnard, CA 93033
(805) 986-5800
twarner@vcccd.edu

Bob DiPietro
Fire Instructor
Pima College Joint Technical
Education District
2855 W Master Pieces Drive
Tucson, AZ 85741
(520) 668-5651
warren.hioki@csn.edu

Steve Gervais
Program Director
LA State University at Eunic
2048 Johnson Highway
P.O. Box 1129
Eunice, LA 70535
(505) 863-7617
sgervais@lsue.edu

Ann Jarvis
Principal, Center for Career and Technical Education
University of New Mexico Gallup Campus
705 Gurley Avenue
Gallup, NM 87301
(505) 863-7617
aejarvis@unm.edu