Research topic: emergency management doctrine (White House)

This Web page highlights doctrinal materials from the White House.

Presidential Policy Directive–8 (PPD–8)
View online PDF 1.3 MB
Background: In March 2011, President Obama issued Presidential Policy Directive-8 (PPD-8), which replaced HSPD-8 and HSPD-8 Annex 1, with the exception of paragraph 44 in Annex 1. The original HSPD-8 was issued in 2003; Annex 1 to HSPD-8 was issued in 2007. HSPD-8 was issued as a companion directive to HSPD-5 to establish policies strengthening U.S. preparedness to prevent and respond to domestic terrorist attacks, major disasters, and other emergencies. The directive required the Secretary of Homeland Security to develop a national domestic all-hazards preparedness goal that included “measurable readiness priorities and targets” and “readiness metrics and elements.” Summary: PPD-8 is aimed at strengthening the security and resilience of the United States through systematic preparation for the threats that pose the greatest risk to the security of the Nation, including acts of terrorism, cyber attacks, pandemics, and catastrophic natural disasters. Everyone can contribute to safeguarding the Nation from harm. As such, while this directive is intended to galvanize action by the Federal Government, it is also aimed at facilitating an integrated, all-of-Nation, capabilities-based approach to preparedness.
Homeland Security Presidential Directive–5 (HSPD–5)
View online PDF 25 KB
Summary: The purpose of this directive is to enhance the ability of the United States to manage domestic incidents by establishing a single, comprehensive national incident management system. The 2003 directive described federal policies and objectives; identified steps to improve federal, state, and local incident coordination; and directed the Secretary of Homeland Security to create a National Response Plan and National Incident Management System.
Homeland Security Presidential Directive–7 (HSPD–7)
View online
Summary: HSPD 7 establishes a national policy for Federal departments and agencies to identify and prioritize critical infrastructure and to protect them from terrorist attacks. The directive defines relevant terms and delivers 31 policy statements. These policy statements define what the directive covers and the roles various federal, state, and local agencies will play in carrying it out.
Homeland Security Presidential Directive–8 (HSPD–8)
View online PDF 37 KB
Summary: HSPD-8 establishes policies to strengthen the preparedness of the United States to prevent and respond to threatened or actual domestic terrorist attacks, major disasters, and other emergencies by requiring a national domestic all-hazards preparedness goal, establishing mechanisms for improved delivery of Federal preparedness assistance to State and local governments, and outlining actions to strengthen preparedness capabilities of federal, state, and local entities.
National Security Strategy of the United States (2010)
View online PDF 1.5 MB
Summary: Our national security strategy is focused on renewing American leadership so that we can more effectively advance our interests in the 21st century. We will do so by building upon the sources of our strength at home, while shaping an international order that can meet the challenges of our time. This strategy recognizes the fundamental connection between our national security, our national competitiveness, resilience, and moral example. And it reaffirms America’s commitment to pursue our interests through an international system in which all nations have certain rights and responsibilities.
Executive Order 12148–Federal emergency management
View Online
Summary: President Jimmy Carter created FEMA by Executive Order on March 31, 1979. On July 15, 1979, President Carter then transferred all the disaster related statutory authority that had been vested in the Presidency, or in other Federal agencies, to FEMA.