An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


NWCG updates wildland fire position qualification standards

Posted: Nov. 12, 2020

Notable position catalog updates include replacement of Prescribed Fire Manager (RXM) Types 1 and 2 with Prescribed Fire Manager (RXMG).

The National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG) released the 2020 NWCG Standards for Wildland Fire Position Qualifications (PMS 310-1). NWCG positions enable consistent and uniform performance by personnel mobilized under National Incident Management System – Incident Command System principles (NIMS-ICS).

The NWCG Position Catalog provides comprehensive information about each position for which the NWCG establishes qualifications standards. Agency-specific positions, such as those located in the Federal Wildland Fire Qualifications Supplement, are not included.

PMS 310-1 is now published as web-based content. Information is still available to print from the position catalog. The NWCG Wildland Fire Position Qualification Flowchart (PMS 308) is also available to print.

This article is based on content in the
Nov. 12, 2020 InfoGram.

Subscribe to the InfoGram

Other articles include:

  • USFA logs lowest annual count in 2019 firefighter fatalities report
  • Behavioral factors strongly contribute to landslide survival
  • Webinar: Life-Saving Partners – 911 and Suicide Lifelines
  • Cybersecurity threat and vulnerability updates

Featured InfoGram articles

Previous InfoGram bulletins