National Fire Academy Board of Visitors

Share on: Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

The National Fire Academy (NFA) Board of Visitors (BOV) plays an important role in supporting the academic stature of the NFA. The primary purpose of the BOV is to:

  • Review NFA programs to ensure they fulfill the basic mission of the U.S. Fire Administration (USFA).
  • Ensure that NFA facilities are adequate for their assigned purposes.
  • Ensure appropriate funding levels for NFA programs.
  • Provide advice and recommendations to the USFA.

Members of the BOV are selected from professionals in the fields of fire safety, fire prevention, education and training, fire control, research and development in fire protection, treatment and rehabilitation of fire victims, local government services management and from other professional organizations to ensure a balanced representation of fire and emergency services interests. Authority for the BOV comes from Public Law 93-498, the Federal Fire Prevention and Control Act of 1974.

2019-2020 NFA Board of Visitors

NFA Board of Visitors

Front row, left to right: NFA Superintendent Tonya Hoover, John Butler, Andrew Pantelis, Eriks Gablicks, Dr. Patricia McIntosh and Deputy U.S. Fire Administrator Denis Onieal. Back row: Chief Kevin Quinn, Steven Westermann (past Vice Chair), Thomas Romaine, Jr., George Stapleton, and NFA Deputy Superintendent Kirby Kiefer.

BOV members

Andrew K. Pantelis (Chair)
District Vice President
International Association of Fire Fighters
3060 Mitchellville Road, Suite 217
Bowie, MD 20716

Eriks Gablicks (Vice Chair)
Oregon Department of Public Safety
Standards and Training
4190 Aumsville Highway
Salem, OR 97317

Chief Kevin Quinn
First Vice Chair
National Volunteer Fire Council
7852 Walker Drive, Suite 375
Greenbelt, MD 20770

George M. Stapleton
Operations Chief
South Carolina State Fire
141 Monticello Trail
Columbia, SC 29203

John S. Butler
Fire Chief
Fairfax County Department of Fire and Rescue
12099 Government Center Parkway
Fairfax, VA 22033

Dr. Patricia McIntosh
Emergency Management Coordinator
College of the Mainland
1200 N. Amburn Road
Texas City, TX 77591

Thomas E. Romaine, Jr.
Minnesota DNR-Forestry
644 Pfaender Drive
New Ulm, MN 56073


Executive Fire Officer Program assessment

The NFA Board of Visitors has completed its assessment of the Executive Fire Officer Program PDF 194 KB.

Committee meeting minutes are posted below.

Evaluations and Outcome + -

September 2017 PDF 60 KB

February 2018 PDF 55 KB

March 2018 PDF 39 KB

April 2018 PDF 57 KB

May 2018 PDF 63 KB

June 2018 PDF 30 KB

Curriculum + -

September 2017 PDF 88 KB

February 2018 PDF 92 KB

March 2018 PDF 122 KB

April 2018 PDF 57 KB

May 2018 PDF 85 KB

June 2018 PDF 41 KB

Design and Delivery + -

September 2017 PDF 25 KB

February 2018 PDF 29 KB

March 2018 PDF 29 KB

April 2018 PDF 30 KB

May 2018 PDF 54 KB

June 2018 PDF 18 KB

Admissions + -

September 2017 PDF 27 KB

February 2018 PDF 36 KB

April 2018 PDF 35 KB

May 2018 PDF 63 KB

June 2018 PDF 42 KB

BOV reports and meeting minutes

Looking for minutes from a previous meeting or annual reports prior to 2014? Please contact us and we’ll email you a copy. Other information, including charter, bylaws, and membership balance plan is available at