Skip to main content

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock () or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Download: A Prepared and Resilient Fire and Emergency Medical Services pdf January 2024, 26 pages

A Prepared and Resilient Fire and Emergency Medical Services

Strategic Plan Fiscal Years 2024-2027

Table of Contents


FEMA, USFA, the U.S. Forest Service (USFS), the U.S. Department of the Interior (DOI) and other partners are leaning into the national cohesive strategy including resilient landscapes, fire-adapted communities and effective response capabilities. Together, we are helping to lead the new Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission statutorily required to deliver workable solutions to Congress.

We must create safer communities by implementing and enforcing codes and standards especially in the WUI and for underserved and vulnerable populations by advocating for housing that is affordable and fire safe.

The Wildland Fire Mitigation and Management Commission brings together and aligns emergency managers, fire protection and public safety officials, planners, scientists, technology experts, and whole community resilience stakeholders to work with our partners in natural resources and land management. Our collective efforts will reduce wildfire risk and the impacts to communities and natural resources.

There are 2 other wildfire work groups addressing the expanding climate-driven wildfire challenge. These groups are the Wildland Fire Leadership Council (WFLC) and the Federal Interagency Working Group (IWG).

Wildland Fire Leadership Council

The WFLC membership includes 19 federal, tribal, state and local members. WFLC members act as coordinators to implement the National Cohesive Wildland Fire Management Strategy along with information sharing and scoping issues. The strategy focuses on action by federal and nonfederal actors.

Federal Interagency Working Group

The IWG, made of up 17 federal departments and agencies, including FEMA, brings a comprehensive and coordinated all-of-federal government approach to wildfire resilience. The group focuses on executive agency action.